Welcome to a panegyric on behalf of

Helen and the Horns

Helen and the Horns

Helen and the Horns

In 1984 Helen McCookerybook, formally with The Chefs, in conjunction with Dave Jago, Marc Jordan and Paul Davey, formed a brass dominated band; Helen and the Horns. As well as a session for the John Peel show they released, during the next couple of years, a number of records on the RCA, Thin Sliced and Rockin' Ray labels, Helen writing all of the original material. The exceptions being a cover of the Rodgers and Hammerstein classic Surrey With The Fringe On Top, and a laudable rendition of Secret Love by Sammy Fain and Francis Webster.
In 1985 they had hit their peak. Because of problems with record company distribution they decided, rather than struggle, to knock it on the head while they were still enjoying themselves. Following a successful gig at the University of Leeds they then went their separate ways.

Helen and the Horns line-up

Helen McCookerybook Guitar and vocals
Dave Jago Trombone
Marc Jordan Trumpet
Paul Davy Alto sax
Chris Smith Trumpet and timpani Replaced Marc Jordan
Tony Hepworth Trumpet Replaced Chris Smith

Helen and the Horns discography

Freight train/Pioneer Town (Thin Sliced Records, TSR3)

Footsteps at my door/Secret love (RCA, HEL1)

Surrey with the fringe on top/Happy ending (Take 5 - 12" only) (RCA, HEL2)

Helen and the Horns (Rockin' Ray Records, RRR1)

Side One

  1. Lonesome country boy
  2. Girl versus boy
  3. My black rose
  4. Oh boy
  5. Northbound train

Side one recorded at Elephant Studios, Wapping, in January 1985.

Side Two

  1. Two strings to your bow
  2. Snakebite
  3. Southern belle
  4. Pioneer town
  5. Freight train

Side two recorded live at the ICA, London, on 6 October, 1984, for the Radio One John Peel Show.

Send comments and mail to Peter Lyell



Last updated by Peter Lyell on 26 January 1997